Skip to content
2010/12/18 / Anton

A’s Year-End list

Inspired by Ted’s ridiculously complex (“I’m complex. I’m intelligence in the age of the Internet, where you’re as smart as how quickly you can use your smart phone. I’m complex.”) list, I’m gonna try myself in a year-end list, too. Although, of course mine is not even going to be half as complex as his. To make it more easy for me, I decided to just do Top 5’s in no particular order. Here we go:

5 Best Albums 2010

It’s interesting how many bloggers complain about the lack of quality of this years releases. Can’t really agree on that. But anyway..the whole ambient-synth-kraut stuff was my sound of the year. Thanks again Ted for getting me into Emeralds!
No need to explain more: Das Racist are the group of the year. No question.

Emeralds – Does It Look Like I’m Here
Oneohtrix Point Never – Returnal

Baths – Cerulean
Das Racist – Shut Up, Dude + Sit Down, Man

Javelin – No Mas

I recognize that all of these are general blog favorites, but I think they are so for a reason.

Also, I did spend a lot of time listening to Gold Panda, Mount Kimbie and James Blake…

5 Best songs 2010

Now these are really just more like random picks…

How To Dress Well – Ready For the World
The War on Drugs – Comin’ Through
Sed Non Satiata – Osögõ orõ
Maps & Atlases – Solid Ground
Oneohtrix Point Never – Returnal (and the cover by Antony!)

5 Best Shows 2010

What a great year for live shows for me but then again it is actually easy to pick the ones that I still think about and probably will think about for a long time…SXSW, Melt! and Iceland Airwaves were musical highlights of the year. I wonder if 2011 can top that.

HEALTH @ Melt! Festival

Finally saw them live. Everything a good noiserock show should have was there and ever since I fell in love with their song “USA Boys”.

Dan Deacon @ Airwaves Iceland

I guess this was a typical Dan Deacon show but I have never seem him before. The moment that he told the audience that he lost his glasses and now he won’t be able to enjoy Iceland’s beautiful landscape with his dad was really touching. His glasses were found…

Planets @ Biko, Isla Vista

I didn’t know who they were, I didn’t know they were playing but as soon as those NorCal math-rock monsters started their set, I knew this was right up my alley. Crazy and tricky stuff played by a bass guitar and drums somewhere between Hella and Lighting Bolt. I left the venue afterwards (while French surf-rock band L’Orchidee Hawaii were playing) because I knew it couldn’t possibly get better than this.

Baths @ Conne Island, Leipzig

Review? -> Here

Maps&Atlases @ 21th Co-Op Austin, Texas

I will probably never forget this one. After years of waiting, I saw Maps & Atlases live and what a setting it was. The venue (a student co-op) was completely packed, young kids were drunk and climbing on the ceiling, everyone went crazy and Maps & Atlases seemed to like it as well and played an amazing set. I guess Ted will agree on that.

A little taste of what happened.

Leave a Reply

